h1

ATTITUDE: It’s not what happened, It’s how you REACT

September 28, 2011

I woke up today feeling off – balanced. Anxious and Irritated. Then, as I gave thanks for my daily bread – as I always do – to the Almighty, my visual attention was drawn to the area above my work space, my inspirational wall. What I see is the popular quotation by the joy-filled, down-to-earth  renown Pastor Chuck Swindoll, regarding Attitude. In summation it reads:

“The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life. Attitude, to me, is more important than facts…We have a CHOICE everyday regarding the attitude we embrace for that day…I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it.”

Chuck nailed it. The most prolific line, to me, being the last sentence. Sure, life happens – and hardly ever the way we power and control junkies command life to. So what is a lady to do? In my lesser self, it’s easy for me to become vulnerable to blaming. I blame life. I blame people. I blame the order of circumstances. And when this rant is over, I feel no better. Why, you may ask.  Because the Epitome of me (my higher self) knows that I am a co-creator of my life, and above any circumstance, my attitude lens – the way I choose to analyze life’s happenings – is the ultimate victor of my joy.

Life is not perfect. But we must all learn to perfect our responses to life, starting with the spiritual armor of our Attitude. Attitude is arguably the most powerful weapon any (wo)man possesses. And I agree with Mr. Swindoll, what makes this power tool so remarkable is our freedom to choose it, everyday.

If life were perfect, no one would ever gain wisdom. As we’d have nothing to learn. If life were perfect, very few would know gratitude, as we’d grow expectant of blessings and lose our strong need for grace and mercy. If life were perfect, this world would be even more Godless, that is “without Love” and we’d have no motivation to love each other, more or less ourselves.

I’ve learned to be grateful for the trials. Humble through the storms. Courageous when faced with defeat. All of these circumstances have transformed me into a greater being – moving me leaps closer to my highest self, my purpose for existing.

Don’t get stuck on the failures of life. Don’t stress over what’s not working. Trust that all things work out as they should, and be eager to learn the lesson(s) in the process.  Your Attitude  is an opportunity to share love with others. Use it wisely, as you are the one who has to live with its fruits.

If you missed the message, it’s simple. Let your attitude be synonymous to love. Feel the effects of your failed outcome, and respond with a graceful attitude.  This way, you’ll go to bed with joy, and greater chances at a better tomorrow.

Let’s reach our best together.

“Always striving for epitome.” – T.Vincent

Leave a Reply

